The Cybernetic Tea Shop – a review (of sorts)

So here’s some information about The Cybernetic Tea Shop that you need to know. It’s a rather short book (only 65 pages) written by Meredith Katz.

But! Here’s the best part. It has an asexual character, which was the whole reason why I read this book in the first place. And, might I add, this wonderful story did not disappoint me. I think I ended up giving it a 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads because I was just so happy with it.

I don’t want to go into too much detail just in case someone sees this and wants to go read it for themselves, but I’ll just chat about bits that don’t reveal a lot.

Like I said before, the main character (who is female) is canonically asexual. As a biromantic asexual, who rarely finds any characters to relate to, this was fantastic. It has elements of science fiction with artificial intelligence and robots. There’s also a slight F/F relationship within its pages.

I really enjoyed these characters. I was able to connect with Clara, and like I said, that rarely happens. Moving from place to place, losing contact slowly with friends (even your closest friends), never having roots in one place, constantly feeling this itch to move… it hit close to home for me. I don’t think I could ever express how wonderful it feels to have this connection to a character.

I wish the book was longer so I could read more about Clara. I miss her already. Hopefully, I will find more books like this one that I can feel so close to.

Until next time!

Pagsy

 

Leave a Reply

